PSL-3 Sultan’s wins the first match

DUBAI (web desk) –Experienced Kumara Sangakara’s fifty overcame Sammy’s onslaught to clinch victory for Multan Sultans in their inaugural match of Pakistan Super League-3 (PSL-3) here at Dubai International Stadium.

Despite early loss of Ahmed Shehzad, Maqsood joined ranks of experienced Sangakara to stable the innings in the middle. However, Maqsood came Maqsood came down the track in the ninth over and took needless risk while ending up throwing away his wicket recklessly.

On the other hand, calm and experienced Sangakara continued to make good use of bad deliveries and brought his fifty in style by hitting a six. He along with skipper Shoaib Malik were well inching towards target when Sangakara was finally dismissed by Wahab Riaz on 57.

Summary of Peshawar Zalim innings

Earleir, skipper Darren Sammy led from the front to post a challenging target of 152 in the inaugural match of Pakistan Super League-3 (PSL-3) against new comers Multan Qalandars.

Sammy hammered 29 on merely 11 balls. His innings included two 4s and three 6s. He was eventually dismissed by Sohail Tanvir in the last over.

Mohammad Hafeez also made useful contributions by making 59 on 52 balls. His innings included six 4s and one 6. He was eventually dismissed by Junaid Khan.

As per details, the newly included Multan Sultans won the toss and opted to bowl first against reigning champions Peshawar Zalmi at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

The bowlers of Multan Sultans proved decision of their skipper to bowl first right as Peshawar Zalmi have lost both of their openers within the power play. Left-arm pacer Mohammad Irfan claimed both wickets by beating them for the pace.

Kamran Akmal wicket

In the second over, left-arm fast bowler Mohammad Irfan inclifted first damage on Peshawar Zalmi by claiming important wicket of Kamran Akmal. Akmal tried to take on the short ball and ended it straight in the safe hands of square leg fielder.

Tamim Iqbal wicket

In the fourth over of the innings, Irfan claimed his second winning by removing Tamim Iqbal. The left-hand batsman was beaten for the pace and was caught at fine leg.

In the eighth over of the innings, Shoaib introduced leg-spinner Imran Tahir, number one bowler in ICC ODI rankings. D Smith welcomed him by hitting massive six over the infield. There was much drama to follow in the same over as Hafeez survived an LBW appeal by immediately reviewing the umpire’s decision.

Later, in the tenth over of the innings, leg-spinner Imran Tahir—number one bowler in ICC ODI rankings—removed D Smith to leave Zalmi rattling. Smith was looking settled at 24 (FOW 57-3).

At the end of 15th over, Peshawar Zalmi have made 100-3. Hafeez brought hundred on the last ball of 15th over.

In the end, the total did not prove enough for the defending champions.

After winning the toss Malik said, “It’s our first year and takes a bit of time to understand franchise cricket but we are all professionals”.

The captian of Peshawar Zalmi Darren Sammy said, “The new wicket has a little bit more grass than last year. Whoever was going to win the toss would ve bowled first”.

Squad of Multan Sultans

KC Sangakara, Ahmed Shehzad, Shoaib Malik, KA Pollard, Shoaib Maqsood, Saif Badar, Sohail Tanvir, GC Viljoen, Mohammad Irfan, Imran Tahir and Junaid Khan

Squad of Peshawar Zalmi

Kamran Akmal, Tamim Iqbal, DR Smith, Mohammad Hafeez, Haris Sohail, Hammad Azam, DJG Sammy, CJ Jordan, Wahab Riaz, Ibtisam Sheikh and Mohammad Asghar.