PSL 2018 trophy

DUBAI (web des) – A ceremony to unveil Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2018 trophy was held on Tuesday, a day before third installment of the league is to kickstart in the Emirates.

PCB Chairman Najam Sethi addresses the media over PSL 3 trophy

The trophy is to be choppered in to the Dubai International Cricket Stadium where it will be unveiled by skippers of the six franchises.

The ceremony begun with a press conference which was addressed by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Najam Sethi and some of the star players of the league namely, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Darren Sammy, Brendon McCullum, Imad Wasim and Misbahul Haq.

While talking to the media, Sethi thanked owners of all the franchises for their support and cooperation in organising the third installment of Pakistan’s first ever indigenous league.

He announced that the best bowler, batsman and fielder would be awarded trophies this time.

(Not in this order) – Player of the Tournament award, Best Player on Field Award, Best Bowler of the Tournament Award, Spirit of Cricket Award, Safest Hands Award, Best Batsman of the Tournament Award

During his speech, Sethi recalled that Sarfraz Ahmed, skipper of Pakistan in One-Day International (ODI), Test and Twenty20 International formats, wrote history with bringing home Pakistan’s maiden Champions Trophy in 2017.

n the occassion, Afridi said that it was a challenge for Najam Sethi to ensure that the league is a successful venture. He thanked owners of the teams for helping promote cricket in Pakistan.

While talking about upcoming New Zealand’s series with Pakistan, Shahid Afridi of Peshawar Zalmi said that he hopes that the kiwis play Pakistan in the country one day.