Opposition parties decide to launch anti-govt protests

LHORE (web desk) – Steering committee of opposition parties over Model Town tragedy met on Monday and agreed to not extend deadline for Punjab chief minister (CM) Shehbaz Sharif and law minister Rana Sanaullah to resign and that protests was the way forward for the opposition.

Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) chief Dr Tahirul Qadri presided over a meeting of opposition leaders today to decide over party’s course-of-action.

Reportedly, the participants agreed to lodge protests against ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) for Model Town massacre on July 17, 2014.

Representatives of opposition parties earlier convened a meeting in December which was referred to as the all parties conference (APC) by Dr Qadri among opposition leaders.

A notification issued following the meeting consisted of ten points including demand to have Punjab CM Shehbaz Sharif and law minister.

According to the participants of the APC, Justice Baqar Najfi held the chief minister and the provincial minister responsible for the fatal clashes in Model Town on July 17, 2014 that claimed 14 lives and they should resign.

The ten-point agreement among participants

1- The parties strongly condemn those responsible for Khatm-e-Nabuwwat law amendment and Model Town tragedy. The massacre is the worst incident of state-terrorism.

2- Deadline for Punjab CM Shehbaz Sharif and law minister Rana Sanaullah has been extended until Janaury 7. Baqar Najfi report holds the two responsible for the incident so they must resign.

3- Steering committee would convene a session on January 8 and announce course-of-action.

4- Those martyred and wounded in Model Town tragedy were citizens of Pakistan. All parties are responsible to work for justice for the victims. Provision of justice will prove as a milestone for supremacy of the law.

5- Families of the martyred could only receive Justice Baqar Bajfi report in three years and that free and fair probe is not possible with alleged criminals being in positions of power.

6- The fact that not one cop was held out of 125 who appeared for interrogation proves that the government completely failed in providing justice to the bereaved families.

7- Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Mian Saqib Nisar orders for establishment of an impartial Joint Investigation Team (JIT) for thorough probe.

8- An honourable judge of the apex court shall monitor the JIT proceedings.

9- Perpetrators of the Model Town tragedy and those who loot national treasury shall not be permitted to strike an NRO.

10- Qamar Zaman Kaira, Lateef Khosa and Kamil Ali Agha shall be the coordinators of steering committee. Nasir Sherazi, Sardar Ateeq, Khurram Nawaz Gandapur and Jahangir Tareen shall be part of the committee as well.

(with in puts from Duny aNews )