Green Shirts lost it all .

WELLINGTON (web desk) – The one-day international (ODI) series between Pakistan and New Zealand is over, but the misery of the tourists continued as batters once again fell down cheaply in the first Twenty20 International (T20I) on Monday, and the Kiwis easily won the match by seven wickets.

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bowl against Pakistan in the first of three matches between the world’s top two ranked Twenty20 sides in Wellington. The visitors were bowled out for mere 105 in 19.4 overs.

Colin Munro was declared Man of the Match for his wonderful knock and a wicket.

Live Updates

New Zealand Innings

Over 15.5, NZ 106/3
New Zealand Win!
The Kiwis have chased down Pakistan’s target with seven wickets in hand and lead the three-match series 1-0. Munro* (49 off 43) Taylor* (22 off 13) remained unbeaten.

Over 15, NZ 92/3
The Kiwis require 14 runs more in 30 balls, Munro* (48 off 42) nears his half-century and is accompanied by Taylor* (10 off 9) at the crease.

Over 10.1
Bruce Out!
Shadab Khan picks up Bruce’s (26 off 22) wicket, caught by Fakhar Zaman at deep midwicket. New Zealand 57/3

Over 10, NZ 57/2
New Zealand sailing towards an easy victory as Munro* (24 off 22) and Bruce* (26 off 21) stand firm against Pakistan bowling attack which is defending a low total. The Blackcaps require another 49 runs in ten overs to go 1-0 up in the series.

Over 5, NZ 21/2
Munro* (10 off 10) and Bruce* (11 off 9) steady New Zealand’s innings after two early wickets.

Over 3.2
Glenn Phillips Out!
Raees strikes again, hits the timber this time. Phillips (3 off 11) walks away. New Zealand 8/2

Over 1.1
Guptill Out!
Pakistan strike in the second over, just as the Blackcaps did. Guptill (2 off 6) is dismissed by Rumman Raees. New Zealand 3/1

Martin Guptill and Colin Munro are out in the middle to open the innings for the Kiwis.

Pakistan Innings

Over 19.4
Babar Azam Out!
Pakistan are all out on 105 runs as Babar Azam (41 off 41) is the last batsman to be dismissed.

Over 18.4
Mohammad Amir Out!
Rance picks up Amir’s (3 off 6) wicket and the Green Shirts are nine down for 90.

Over 16.4
Hasan Ali Out!
After hitting Rance for two consecutive sixes, Hasan Ali (23 off 12) misses out on third delivery and is caught by Southee. His cameo comes to an end leaving Pakistan at 83/8

Over 13.5
Faheem Ashraf Out!
Tim Southee takes Faheem’s (7 off 14) wicket who tried to pull a short ball outside off stump. Pakistan 53/7

Over 9.2
Shadab Khan Out!
Shadab Khan (0 off 1) scores a golden duck and Santner is on a hat-trick. Pakistan 38/6

Over 9.1
Sarfraz Ahmed Out!
The skipper (9 off 14) is out, stumped. Sarfraz tries to sweep Santner but over balanced himself, leaving his side in deep trouble at 38/5

Over 5.4
Haris Sohail Out!
Haris Sohail (9 off 10) is the fourth batsman to get out, dismissed by Kitchen. Pakistan 22/4

Over 3.5
Mohammad Nawaz Out!
Nawaz (7 off 9) goes back to the pavilion playing an unnecessary shot on Southee’s ball. Pakistan 18/3

Over 2.2
Umar Amin Out!
Pakistan lose their second wicket as Umar Amin (0 off 7) goes out on a duck, dismissed by Rance. Pakistan in early trouble at 4/2

Over 1.3
Fakhar Zaman Out!
Pakistan’s first wicket is down in the second over. Zaman (3 off 4) goes back to the dugout. Pakistan 4/1

The hosts are on a high having just swept the one-day series against Pakistan and are backing themselves to continue that form as they switch to the shortest form of the game.

However, they suffered a setback hours before the match when captain Kane Williamson was withdrawn as a precautionary measure after complaining of a tight thigh.

Stand-in skipper Tim Southee said it was “not a typical” wicket at Westpac Stadium but he opted to bowl “as hopefully we will get something out of it early on.”

New Zealand are resting fast bowlers Trent Boult and Lockie Ferguson for the match.

Pakistan will be without Shoaib Malik who is out of the series after a delayed concussion suffered during the fourth ODI.

However, Hasan Ali who missed the final ODI with a groin strain has been declared fit and named in the starting line up.

Pakistan: Umar Amin, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashradf, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Tom Bruce, Ross Taylor, Anaru Kitchen, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee (capt), Ish Sodhi, Seth Rance.

Umpires: Wayne Knights (NZL), Chris Brown (NZL).

TV Umpire: Shaun Haig (NZL).

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS).

(With inputs from AFP)